Dancing in the rain

In Christ alone my hope is found, He is my light, my strength, my song; this Cornerstone, this solid Ground, firm through the fiercest drought and storm. What heights of love, what depths of peace, when fears are stilled, when strivings cease! My Comforter, my All in All, here in the love of Christ I stand.

He Was There

Leave a comment

I actually wrote the following about a year ago, but I found myself needing the reminder this past week….

Months, perhaps even a year ago, cancer invaded my body, and He was there, drawing the line that said, you may only go this far.

As the unsuspecting surgeon prepared for surgery, He was there, “Not yet.”

As the news of cancer set in and I was somewhat unsettled, He was there with words of reassurance and deliverance, declaring me His miracle girl.

When I was disobedient and read the horrible news of my recently named cancer online, He was there offering me forgiveness and more reassurance, “Whose words are you going to believe, mine or those of the internet?”

When I had to tell my friend my horrible news, He was there, selecting just the right timing for her.

As I sat in the oncologist office and reality began to set in, He was there, assuring me that He was not only with my doctor, but IN my doctor. He had not left me in just anyone’s hands, but kept me firmly grasped in His own.

When the time came to sit down with my baby boy and speak words that no mother should have to speak to her child, He was there, giving me strength, courage, and control that goes beyond all understanding.

In the short time leading up to my surgery, He was there, working fast and feverishly to build my confidence and faith, moving me from not just hoping, but believing.

The night before my surgery, when satan came to attack, He was there, helping me say, “No longer! You have no dominion here, GET OUT!”

As I lay in the hospital, fresh from surgery and overcome by all the emotion of the last month, He was there, with His big beautiful angel standing guard over my bed.

As I lay at home, more nauseous than I ever thought imaginable, He was there, bringing sleep that simply should not have been possible, and all the while snapping video and pics of my baby boy in his first ever marching band parade.

The day before getting results, He was there, using my mouth to prophesy His forthcoming miracle to all who would listen.

The day of results, He was there, keeping His promise and shining the sun just as bright as can be for His “sunshine” to show me how the heavens were rejoicing. Not only this, but also a special study started just for me so that He can keep an extra close eye on me, declaring not only that He WAS there, but will continue to be there.

Through it all, He was there, showing His faithfulness provision through His words and through many friends who loved and cared for me through prayers, cards, flowers, food, rides, shots, and loving words.

Leave a Reply

